Women and Youth Take Charge on Xplor Canada Association Boards

TORONTO, February 27, 2017 – Xplor Canada, an affiliate of Xplor International, has completed its bi-annual Association Board of Directors elections. For the next two years the association will be led by newly elected president Joanne Gore, Director, Marketing for Avanti Systems. Gore has served as a board member at both the Chapter level and the Region level and is the first female president of the Canadian Association.

In addition to being supported by several new board members, the board also includes some veterans. Western Chapter President, Mark Miller, who received the honour of being the 2016 Xplorer of the Year, has been re-elected, and the inaugural president of the Ryerson Student Chapter, Alex Downey-Ging, will now serve as the Eastern Chapter President.

Tweet this: Women & youth take charge on @Xplorcanada BOD. @joannegore becomes first female Canadian president. Congrats all. #xplor17 #CCM

“Xplor Canada’s ongoing efforts in grooming and selecting leadership to expand the Xplor mission is a model for the association”, says Skip Henk, President and CEO of Xplor International. “The Xplor Canada leadership team exemplifies our mission by providing thought leadership, as well as great educational forums and networking opportunities.”

Ryerson graduates are prevalent on the Canadian boards with Nicholas Riedler, Valerie Drozdowsky, and Michael Sutton. The board is especially proud to have such a diverse group with very strong female leaders.

“Downey-Ging is proof positive that Xplor’s Ryerson Chapter is continuing to be a win-win-win scenario for students, the industry and Xplor Canada. We have had over 75 student members since the chapter started and many of them are working within the Xplor Community of companies after graduation” stated Paul Abdool, Xplor International Director of Student Programs.

2017-2018 Xplor Canada Region Board
President/ABOD – Joanne Gore, Avanti
Vice President – Bob Gallant, RR Donnelly Canada
Secretary – Franklin Friedmann, Ricoh Canada
Treasurer – Paul Abdool, Solimar Systems, Inc.
Western President – Mark Miller, Planet Group Inc.
Eastern President – Alex Downey-Ging, Avanti
Past-President/ABOD – Nicholas Riedler, City of Toronto
ABOD Representative – Dennis Quon, Crawford Technologies

2017-2018 Western Chapter Board
President – Mark Miller, Planet Group Inc.
Vice President – Scott Ringrose, Symcor
Secretary – Mark Miller, Planet Group Inc
Treasurer – Scott Ringrose, Symcor

2017-2018 Eastern Chapter Board
President – Alex Downey-Ging, Avanti
Vice President – Valerie Drozdowsky, TC Transcontinental
Secretary – Lisbeth Gamboa
Treasurer – Paul Abdool, Solimar Systems, Inc.
Board Member – Michael Sutton, Ryerson University
Board Member – Dennis Quon, Crawford Technologies
Board Member – Joanne Gore, Avanti

 2017 Ryerson Chapter Board
President – Yoland Khalaf
Vice President – Jody Mitchell
Treasurer/Finance – Agan Leyli
Graphic Designer – Brandon Chu
Public Relations – Melissa Williams & Marcus Tung
Marketing/Social Media – Joyce Li

About Xplor Canada
Xplor Canada is an affiliate of Xplor® International, a not-for-profit association that provides thought leadership to the customer communications industry. Xplor is a worldwide association of users and suppliers of the products and services that create, modify, and deliver customized information using a variety of document technologies.

As a community Xplor provides advocacy, education, training, mentoring and networking opportunities. Our members are decision makers and recommenders who are involved in the conception, design, implementation production and delivery of multi-channel client, member and customer communications.

Xplor’s mission is to enhance organizational success and advance the careers of our members by providing research, publications, industry certification, professional development, web-based events, and conference programming. www.xplorcanada.org

Xplor Canada Media Contact:
Dennis Quon